OUR Golf AM – AM was held at Galway Golf Club on the 9th of August. It was a great success again, the day was fine and 45 teams played. The Golf course was magnificent. New Ireland Assurance was our main sponsor this year through the good offices of Norman Costello. We sincerely thank Norman and his colleagues for his generous sponsorship. Of course we had all our old sponsors back again this year, we just could not get on without THEM. They included Richard Hartman of Hartman Jewellers, Rory Gibson of advertises our Sr.Vice. John Benson (A great clubman). Joe Hanley Hanley’s Mensware, Declan Cunningham Golf Style, David Mortimor Galway Golf Club Professional, The Clada Group Ltd., Galway Irish Spring Water – Ursula Owens, Busker Brownes – Clubs main sponsors.

We were very fortunate to have our raffle prize sponsored this year by John Lally of Lalco a past player who will always come up trumps when asked, John is the new owner of the Dublin Hilton Hotel in Kilmaiham. He gave us B&B and Dinner for two in the Kilmainham Hilton. It was a very popular prize and brought in €960.00 thanks to our wonderful ticket seller Maeve Russell, many thanks Maeve. We thank sincerely all the teams who played, every year they come back, all we have to do is contact them and give them the date. All of the team names and sponsors will be displayed on the Credits Board in the Club House for the entire season. Where would we be without all our help especially Donnie White, Aidan White, Kieran Dolan, Christopher O’Neill, Bryan Casburn, Damian Connolly of Carabay Packaging, Mick Roche and Marguerite Mac Gowan who gave her full day arranging prizes and managing the Reception. Our winners this year was Chris Curtins team with him were Peter Crampton Michael O’Cinneide and Carmel Browne. The first 11 teams got prizes. Next Year the AM -AM is on August 7th at Galway Golf Club.

The dates for the Corinthian Golf Society outings next year are:

Oughterard – April 25th 2015-09.00 am

Cregmore –   May 23rd 2015-09:30am

Athenry  –      June 20th 2015-09:30am

Ballinasloe – July 18th  2015-09:30am

Captains prize (Enda McGowan) Galway Golf Club August 22nd 10:00am

On behalf of Enda MacGowan, Brendan Cassidy, Mick Roche, Gerry O’Neill, Eoin Crowley and myself many thanks for all the help and we wish Kieran & Bryan and all the teams the best of luck for the coming Season.




Paddy Flynn.